I am a member of a book club. Each month we select a new title.. please note so far I have not persuaded anyone to read any of my choices! Honestly, they weren’t that bad.

This month I am reading William Faulkner’s Absalom, Absalom (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Absalom,_Absalom!) a story which is part gothic novel part western.

I can’t tell you whether it is worth the long slog of reading it yet. I’ve never read any Faulkner before, so I don’t even know if this is his standard wordy prose or he did something “experimental” for this tome??

Wikipedia tells me he is considered one of the foremost Southern writers, so I am clinging on in there in the hope that the story which has been going around in circles for the past 100 pages resolves itself into something wonderful.

Book club is next Tuesday, so lets see what everyone else thinks then!

